The applications to listen to music are growing, and improving in their characteristics, that is something that we can see every day. Both Amazon Music, YouTube and even applications that were born to listen to podcasts today offer music services and vice versa.
Perhaps for this matter you decide to delete applications and leave only the ones you like the most. If this is your case and you have decided to erase Spotify it is best that you do it in a complete way, and not leaving your account exposed while you are not using it.
Therefore, let's see today how to delete your account, and what consequences it may have if you decide to do so.
As we are going to verify, it is not impossible to abandon the Swedish company Spotify, which has been the application that has contributed the most to the reproduction of music via streaming. In it we can choose different options when using the app, either with a premium account, which includes additional features and establishes a better audio quality, being able to choose between different plans. Or limit ourselves to the use of the basic free service and with advertising.
With both plans we can listen in "radio mode", or search by artist, album or enjoy playlists created by the users themselves, etc.
But we are going to focus on the matter at hand, and if we have already decided that we do not want to continue enjoying the Spotify app, and we want to permanently delete our account without leaving a trace of it, let's see what needs to be eliminated and the steps to follow.
Table of Contents
Cancel your Premium account
The first thing we have to do is cancel your Premium subscription, in case you have it activated. Later you can permanently delete and with the consequent loss of saved lists, or created the followers, and obviously the username.
To be able to do it we must open the web version in the browser you use, Spotify It has in its upper right part the Profile menu, which when pressing displays the options of Account and Sign out. Obviously, we will click on the option Account.
As you can see, on the left side you can manage the subscriptions you have activated, it also shows us the plan we have contracted, the price it costs and the options we have either to expand the subscribed plan or cancel it which is what we want at the moment.
We continue by clicking on the option that will appear on the right: Cancel Premium and thus you will delete the paid account, and we will return to the free version, and the ads that the version includes free. You will have to confirm by clicking on the Yes, and Cancel.
When we have deleted the Spotify Premium account, if we had it, you can proceed to permanently delete your account.
Delete your Spotify account permanently
Now that we are users of the application in its free version, we only have to search within the user where to delete the account ... You can't find it easily, right? Well if you don't want to go around, click here directly, and it will redirect you to the necessary option to delete your account.
Once you we click on Account we will go to a new menu in which several options appear, from changing account data, different types of help and among others what we are looking for I want to close my account. We only have a couple of steps left to achieve our purpose to delete our account.
By clicking on the option, a window will open in which Spotify asks us what we prefer to do, if we have thought about it well since By deleting the account, we will definitely lose the privileges and options that we have configured in the app.
How can you see if we decide to close our account, and delete it? You lose your music and podcasts Because let's remember that the application not only offers you thousands of songs from a multitude of artists, but also offers us a wide catalog of podscat to listen to.
Thus, you will run out of your podcast subscription, you will lose the playlists you have set up and other saved music. In fact, it reminds us that we will not be able to access the more than fifty million songs and thousands of podcasts.
Another consequence of deleting the Spotify account means that the username can no longer be used on Spotify. The total deletion and disappearance of the account may not be effective for a couple of days.
Even if you lose your username, you can reuse your email account if you decide to use the music service of this app for music and podcasts again.
At this point, there will be no trace of your account and you will have completed the task of deleting and deleting your passage through Spotify.
But what happens if you have created your account, linking it with Facebook?
To proceed to unlink the accounts before deleting it, you just have to follow these steps:
- Open Spotify on your computer.
- Go to the drop-down menu located on the left where the option of Privacy settings.
- Now a window will open in which they inform us about the Management of your data.
- To remove the link with Facebook you must uncheck the option Processing of my Facebook data and the option to share data or link both accounts will be eliminated.