Why people hide their last connection on WhatsApp

whatsapp emo

WhatsApp is the most popular messaging application on Android. Millions of people around the world use it as a way to stay in touch with friends and family. The app lets us show the last connection time, although this is something that many users choose to hide. Why do they do this?

This is a question for many people, especially those who start using WhatsApp now. They want to know why people hide their last connection on whatsapp and on this topic we will talk next. In this way you will know more about the reasons why people hide this information in the well-known messaging app, which can be very varied, although there are usually a couple of reasons mainly in this regard.

In addition, we also show you how this can be done. Since it may be the case that you yourselves want to hide this last connection in the messaging app. Thus, if this is the case, you will be able to see the steps that must be followed in the Android application so that this will be possible. The steps that we will have to follow are really simple, you can see it below. For those who are convinced that they want to hide this information, you can do so without any problem in all versions of the well-known messaging app on Android or iOS. The steps are the same in both cases.

WhatsApp groups
Related article:
How to change the WhatsApp keyboard

Last connection

WhatsApp

A function or feature present in WhatsApp since its inception is the last connection time. When entering a chat with a person, below their name at the top of the screen, you can see that the time they were last connected in the app is displayed. So we can know if a long time has passed since your last connection. A fact that can be helpful in some cases.

This is something that in its beginnings was always shown in the application, there was no possibility to hide this data, although in later updates, the option to hide this last connection in the application was finally made possible. So users can choose what they want to do with this data in their accounts in the app.

Many users on WhatsApp, the majority to tell the truth, make the decision to hide this last connection time. Although many people do not fully understand the reasons why someone does this. But the reality is that there are quite clear or obvious reasons why many make this decision in the well-known messaging app. Below we will tell you more about this matter, so that you can get an idea about it.

Why people hide their last connection on WhatsApp

WhatsApp

Having visible the last connection time of a person in WhatsApp It is something that can be helpful in many cases. Since you can get an idea about whether or not this person is available to answer a message, for example, or to get an idea about whether they have seen the message you have sent them previously. Although this connection time is a fact that in many cases generates conflicts between people, as surely many of you already know.

It is very common for someone to be accused of ignoring messages, because you can see when you were last connected in the app. That is, you sent someone a message at nine at night, but you can see that the last time they were connected in the app was at ten at night, so it is possible that they have seen your messages, but don't answer. This is a common cause of fights between people, so it ends up being very heavy and many hide this last connection in the app.

On the other hand, it can lead to someone sending you a message, because they have seen that you were online recently, but that it is not really the right time or that you do not want to have contact with that person at that time. Especially if WhatsApp is used to have contact with co-workers or even bosses. So this is something that can force you to reply to a message outside of business hours or could be used against you.

Why do people hide their last connection on WhatsApp? Simply to avoid useless problems or conflicts. On many occasions people have had fights because it is assumed that if you were online after receiving a message that you have seen that message and that you are ignoring this person. So as a way to avoid this unnecessary conflict, many users of the messaging app make the decision to hide this data in their account. More and more people are doing this as it allows them much better use of the app on their Android phones.

Hide the last connection in WhatsApp

In the previous section we have talked about the reasons why someone hides the last connection time on WhatsApp. For most of you this is surely reason enough and many of you may want to do this as well. Since you have had some discussion or conflict precisely because of this. As we have mentioned before, a few years ago the application introduced the possibility of hiding this data.

In this way, if you want, you can hide the last connection time in the app. This will make it so that if someone opens the chat, under your name at the top of the screen it will no longer be seen at the time you were last connected. So you can avoid this type of fight or conflict with another person. This is something that can be done in all versions of the app, both on Android and iOS. So nobody is going to have problems in this regard.

Steps to follow

The steps we have to follow are really simple. As we have said, all users with WhatsApp on Android will have the possibility to hide the last connection in the application. This way no one will be able to see this data when they open a chat with you. The steps that we have to follow in the Android application are the following:

  1. Open WhatsApp on your Android phone.
  2. Click on the icon with the three vertical dots at the top right of the screen.
  3. In the menu that appears on the side, click on Settings.
  4. Within the Settings go to the first section, the Account section.
  5. Enter the Privacy option.
  6. Look at the first option: Time of last time.
  7. Click on this option.
  8. Choose the option you want in this case.

WhatsApp gives us several possibilities when it comes to showing the last connection in the app. We can make it so that everyone can see it, only the contacts that we have in our address book, add some exceptions, so that they are contacts but there are some people who cannot see this or the final option, which is that nobody goes to be able to see this data. Since we want to avoid these problems that we have mentioned before, we are going to choose the last one: nobody. In this way, no one will be able to see the last time we have been connected in the messaging application.

Is it worth hiding this fact?

How to save WhatsApp photos in gallery

This is a question for many users on WhatsApp. The reality is that showing the last connection time is something that can generate useless fights or conflicts in many cases, because someone will think that we are ignoring their messages in the app. By hiding this information, this type of situation can be avoided, because nobody will know when the last time we were connected was. The only thing they will be able to see is when we are connected.

If someone opens the chat they have with us on WhatsApp, our connection status will only be seen if we are active and when we are writing a message to this person, at no other time. Therefore, that person will not know when we were last in the app, a piece of information that we do not want to share and that gives us a little more privacy when using the application on Android. So it can avoid many headaches, as you can imagine.

In addition, this is something we can configure to our liking, as you have seen. In other words, we can hide this last connection time for all the people we want, or even choose only certain people, who will not be able to see when we were last connected to the application. Each WhatsApp user will have control over this setting and thus they will be able to make better use of it at all times in their account in the Android app.


The content of the article adheres to our principles of editorial ethics. To report an error click here!.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

*

*

  1. Responsible for the data: Miguel Ángel Gatón
  2. Purpose of the data: Control SPAM, comment management.
  3. Legitimation: Your consent
  4. Communication of the data: The data will not be communicated to third parties except by legal obligation.
  5. Data storage: Database hosted by Occentus Networks (EU)
  6. Rights: At any time you can limit, recover and delete your information.